Levite Cities

The Levitical Cities (Arei HaLeviim) were 48 cities that were set aside for the Levites who were not given their own land in Israel. Of those 48 cities, six also served as cities of refuge as defined in the Bible.ערי הלוויים היו ארבעים ושמונה ערים שהוקדשו למגורי בני שבט לוי, שבט שלא קיבל נחלה בארץ ישראל. מתואר בתורה ששֵש מתוך הערים הללו שימשו ערי מקלט.
FilterFilter icon