This is a rejected attempt to solve the contradiction. We might have thought that the rules are stricter when it comes to hametz, for hametz is prohibited by the Torah whereas idolatrous wine is prohibited only by rabbinic decree.
The problem with this is that there is a principle that whenever the rabbis make a decree, it is supposed to be of the same level as Torah law. Thus if all glazed vessels used with hametz are prohibited on Pesah, so too are glazed vessels used with idolatrous wine.
The answer is that glazed wine vessels do not absorb taste because they are used only with cold wine. The hametz vessels referred to here are used with hot hametz (such as cooked cereal) and therefore they do absorb taste.
In the fascinating story we read here, R. Akiva comes to a place and immediately is bombarded with questions, some halakhic and some aggadic. The story is here because one of these questions is about using wine bottles previously used by idolaters.
The first question deals with a voluntary fast that a person might accept upon himself (this seems to have been a common pietistic practice). If he began the day not thinking that he was fasting, and then decided to fast and had not yet eaten, does this count as a fast? The second question is the topic we have been discussing. The third question is whether Moses wore priestly clothing during the seven days in which the altar was being consecrated despite the fact that he is not a priest.
These are the answers that R. Akiva received in the bet midrash. Evidently, after twelve months of not being used, the wine taste will no longer be in the bottles. Moses did not wear priestly clothing because, despite his prophetic role, he was not a priest.
The mishnah ruled that grape pits and grape skins belonging to idolaters are prohibited. Our sugya discusses the issue.
Once the grape pits and skins have dried up they are permitted. The “wine” in them has totally disappeared. But this process takes a full twelve months. That’s a long time to dry up.
When they are moist, one may not even derive benefit from these grape skins or pit. But when they are dry, one may eat them. Not sure why one would want to, but you can, if you want.
All of these items lose their taste of forbidden wine after twelve months and therefore may be used by Jews.